Day 25 – 2/8/2010 – Finally back home! Telford, Shropshire to Cheltenham, Gloucestershire. 82 miles

On Day 24, I had a complete rest day to recover and spend time with a relative at their house in Telford – this is my reason for omitting it from the blog.

Route plan for the day’s cycling (Day 25):

Off by mid-morning in bright and sunny weather, I was soon out of Telford and into the beautiful Shropshire countryside. I took a minor detour to visit some kind cyclists at Burwarton who had once given me a room for a night when I was stranded during a freak November snowstorm. I was invited to lunch, so stayed for a while before embarking on the final 50 miles home.

I stopped at Clee Hill viewpoint to take some pictures of the beautiful English countryside, the first photos I had taken since I was at Ullswater in the Lake District! A remarkably different landscape to that of Western Scotland – the UK has an incredible variety of scenery.

View from Clee Hill

View from Clee Hill

Shropshire view

Shropshire view

From Clee Hill I cycled along familiar roads through Tenbury Wells, Bromyard and Ledbury. As I approached Cheltenham I was euphoric with a sense of achievement. After a long, strenuous, challenging but worthwhile and exciting 1,700 mile journey, I was home.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

