Day 22 – 30/7/2010 – Hesket Newmarket, Cumbria to Chatburn, Lancashire. 86 miles

Route plan for the day’s cycling:

The fine and sunny weather did not last. The day began cloudy as I headed south into the Lake District and soon I was attempting the Kirkstone Pass, a very steep hill and the highest road in the county, reaching 454m. I managed the climb without stopping but when I reached the top, fine driving rain had set in. The descent although pleasant was very wet so I arrived at Windermere drenched through and in need of some food. I stopped for fish ‘n’ chips a few miles on at Nether Staveley before journeying to Kendal. From there the route took me through Kirkby Lonsdale and onto minor roads to Low Bentham.

Ullswater, Lake District

Ullswater, Lake District

Unfortunately and very frustratingly, my rear luggage mount snapped as I went over a small pothole in Low Bentham. I found a garage which helped me make a temporary fix with zip ties. It was not really an ideal solution for carrying 9kgs of weight but I decided to continue southwards anyway. Instead of going on my intended route on a rough minor road through the Forest of Bowland, I opted to use the smoother and less remote main road in case I had more trouble with the luggage system.

It absolutely poured with rain as I progressed down the A65 and by the time I reached Gisburn I felt like I had swum, not cycled, south from the Lakes! Annoyingly the campsite I had spotted on my map was now only taking caravans. By then it was late, would soon be getting dark and there were no other campsites for miles. Although I might have been able to camp discreetly in a field nearby, I did not want to risk it and the ground looked muddy and sodden. I was soaked through in any case and badly needed to dry out. I therefore browsed the internet on my mobile phone in pursuit of a B&B. I was lucky to find a vacancy nearby in Chatburn and it was with great relief that I arrived there a little while later.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

