Day 19 – 27/7/2010 – Newtonmore to Edinburgh. 120 miles

Route plan for the day’s cycling:

The day began with a wonderful breakfast as expected. I headed south on the slow but steady ascent to Drumochter summit, which was rewarded with a long and fast (30mph for some time) descent to Dalnacardoch Lodge where I took the minor road to Trinafour. This involved a steep climb but the descent was beautiful with wonderful views towards Schiehallion.

View to Schiehallion

View to Schiehallion

I soon reached the town of Aberfeldy, where I stopped for an enjoyable pub lunch of chicken and chips. I also replenished my food supplies at the Co-op, before enjoying an ice-cream relishing the beautiful-for-once weather! From Aberfeldy the ride was relatively straightforward with 50 or 60 miles to go until Edinburgh. There were several scenic spots along the way. Shortly out of Aberfeldy there was a fine viewpoint near Loch na Craig. A little while later I dropped into a deep and impressive valley known as the Sma’ Glen, on the boundary between the highlands and lowlands of Scotland.

Aberfeldy viewpoint

Aberfeldy viewpoint

View near Aberfeldy

View near Aberfeldy

Sma' Glen

Sma' Glen

Bike leaning on trees during biscuit stop

Bike leaning on trees during biscuit stop

Further south I negotiated a first class climb up Glen Eagles into the Ochil Hills, another picturesque range. I was also impressed with the small hills just north of Dumfermline – the Cleigh Hills and the area around Knock Hill. The fantastic weather really made a difference to my mood and my appreciation of the cycle tour.

Glen Eagles

Glen Eagles

View back to Ochil Hills from Cleigh Hills

View back to Ochil Hills from Cleigh Hills

Fife View

Fife View

Evening in the Central Lowlands

Evening in the Central Lowlands

The next milestone of the day’s journey was reaching the Forth Road Bridge. I relished an astounding sunset as I crossed the Firth of Forth and felt a huge sense of satisfaction. Upon reaching the city I followed up an offer of accommodation from a lady I met on the Isle of Rum, who very kindly agreed to let me stay for two nights.

Absolutely incredible sunset from the Forth Road Bridge

Absolutely incredible sunset from the Forth Road Bridge

Sunset from the Forth Road Bridge

Sunset from the Forth Road Bridge

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

